Academic Catalog 2020-2021

Broyhill Undergraduate School of Management

Dean: M. Taylor

Director of Undergraduate Programs: E. Godfrey


Professors: D. Caudill, E. Godfrey, C. Metcalf, A. Negbenebor, F. Policastro
Associate Professors: G. Gilsdorf, S. Johnson, S. Mankins, L. Xiao, P. Nall
Assistant Professors: W. Achia, S. Kim, S. Gathers, A. Smith, C. Sutton
Instructors: G. Dib, J. Herndon, M. Taylor

Nationally accredited by the Association of Collegiate Business Schools and Programs, the Broyhill Undergraduate School of Management became the University’s first endowed school in 1981 with a gift from the Broyhill Foundation of Hickory, North Carolina.

Mission Statement

The Godbold School of Business provides undergraduate and graduate professional training within the scope of a Christian-based, liberal arts university, building on the skills in learning and critical thinking that the liberal arts foster.

Major Fields of Study


Business Administration

Computer Information Systems

Healthcare Management


Wealth Management

The Online Undergraduate Degree Completion Program within the Godbold School of Business offers five majors which require an academic background in business and additional specialty courses within the individual majors. A multidisciplinary Common Professional Core component is required of all Business students consisting of coursework in the following areas: Accounting Principles I and II, Principles of Economics I and II, Principles of Management, Principles of Marketing, Management Information Systems, International Business, Legal Environment of Business, Statistics, Quantitative Methods, Financial Management, and Business Strategy. These courses are represented within prerequisite requirements, Online Undergraduate Program General Education requirements, or major requirements.

All Business students are expected to complete MTH 105 within the Online Undergraduate Program General Education requirements. Any Business student not having completed college coursework in algebra must take MTH 100. A minimum grade of “C” (2.0) is required in major courses, MTH 100 and 105 courses, and prerequisite courses specified by the Business major, whether taken at Gardner-Webb or transferred from another institution.

Minor Fields of Study

The Broyhilll Undergraduate School of Management offers minors in some business disciplines which can be taken by business majors and non-business majors.

Computer Information Systems

Healthcare Administration



Delta Mu Delta Honor Society

Delta Mu Delta is the international honor society for business majors. This academic honor society recognizes high scholastic achievement by majors in the School of Business. Requirements include Online Undergraduate Program juniors and seniors in the top 10% of their class with a minimum 3.8 GPA. Membership is lifetime and carries recognition to the professional world resulting in higher pay and promotion.