Academic Catalog 2020-2021

Notice of Nondiscrimination

Various federal regulations, including the regulations implementing Title IX of the Education Amendments of 1972 and Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973, require that each recipient of federal financial assistance, such as Gardner-Webb University, publish this Notice of Nondiscrimination. Gardner-Webb University does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, national origin, sex, disability, or age in employment for any of its programs and activities. The person designated to oversee policies, procedures, and complaints related to possible discrimination on the basis of sex (including sexual harassment and sexual misconduct) is the Title IX Coordinator. The Title IX Coordinator for Gardner-Webb University is:

Dr. Cary Poole

Tucker Student Center, 704-406-2155

cpoole3@gardner-webb.edu

In addition to the Title IX Coordinator listed above, various members of the Gardner-Webb University community are trained to refer sexual harassment and sexual assault complaints to the appropriate authorities. These individuals are listed below.

Complaints related to faculty or academic personnel

Ms. Carmen Butler, Dean of Student Success

Tucker Student Center, 704-406-3980

cbutler@gardner-webb.edu

Complaints related to athletics

Ms. Pam Scruggs, Associate Athletics Director and Senior Women’s Administrator

Lutz-Yelton Convocation Center, 704-406-4341

pscruggs@gardner-webb.edu

Complaints related to non-faculty employees
Ms. Frances Sizemore, Associate Director of Human Resources

Webb Hall, 704-406-3502

fsizemore@gardner-webb.edu

Complaints related to traditional undergraduate students

Dr. Sarah Currie, Vice President of Student Development and Dean of Students

Tucker Student Center, 704-406-2081

scurrie@gardner-webb.edu

Complaints related to admissions personnel or procedures
Mr. Alex Carroll, Enrollment Development Officer

Dover Campus Center, 704-406-2660

acarroll6@gardner-webb.edu

Complaints related to degree completion and graduate students
Dr. Elizabeth Pack, Dean of Adult and Distance Education
Washburn Hall, 704-406-2173

epack@gardner-webb.edu

The person designated to oversee policies, procedures, and complaints related to possible discrimination on the basis of disability (including compliance with the Americans with Disabilities Act and section 504 of the Vocational Rehabilitation Act of 1973) is:

Dr. Cary Poole

Tucker Student Center, 704-406-2155

cpoole3@gardner-webb.edu

For further information on this required notice of nondiscrimination, you may visit http://wdcrobcolp01.ed.gov/CFAPPS/OCR/contactus.cfm for the address and phone number of the Department of Education Office of Civil Rights office that serves your area or call 1-800-421-3481.